Leave a copy of messages on the server

Categories Email HostingEmail Troubleshooting

An important option within most email clients is the option to leave a copy of received emails on the server or have them automatically deleted. If connecting to an email account via POP from several devices such as a work computer, phone and home laptop, users sometimes find that one of their devices will receive an email but their other devices don’t. This typically occurs due one of the devices being configured to remove copies of emails that are downloaded off of the mail server.

To prevent this from occurring and to allow all the email devices that are used to download a copy of the all emails that are received, you need to ensure that the setting to leave a copy of emails on the server are chosen.

Below are some steps to help locate this option in the more popular email clients

Outlook 2010

  1. Click File
  2. Select Info from the dropdown menu
  3. Click Account Settings
  4. In the Email tab, select the email account you wish to make changes to then click [Change]
  5. Click [More Settings]
  6. Select the Advanced tab
  7. Under Delivery, tick the box next to Leave a copy of messages on the server
  8. Tick the box next to Remove from server after X days

iPhone

  1. Press the Settings icon
  2. Press Mail, Contacts, Calendars
  3. Press on the email account you wish to make changes to
  4. Press Advanced
  5. Press Delete from server
  6. Press Never, Seven days or when removed from inbox

Outlook 2007

  1. Click Tools
  2. Select Account Settings from the drop down menu
  3. In the Email tab, select the email account you wish to make changes to then click [Change]
  4. Click [More Settings]
  5. Select the Advanced tab Under Delivery
  6. Tick the box next to Leave a copy of messages on the server
  7. Tick the box next to Remove from server after X days
  8. Set the number of days you wish the email client to leave a copy of messages on the server.
  9. Set the number of days you wish the email client to leave a copy of messages on the server.

Outlook 2003

  1. Click Tools
  2. Select Email Accounts from the dropdown menu
  3. Select the radio option next to View or change existing email accounts, then click [Next]
  4. Select the email account you wish to make changes to then click [Change]. Click [More Settings] Select the Advanced tab Under Delivery, tick the box next to Leave a copy of messages on the server. Tick the box next to Remove from server after X days Set the number of days you wish the email client to leave a copy of messages on the server


Rate this article